10
Mar
11

What Your Naked Pic Really Reveals

By now, you’ve probably seen the naked photo of R&B star Chris Brown that was allegedly “leaked” by one of his exes.

Whether or not the photo was released by an ex or Chris himself is still in question, but it’s obvious that he’s the one who snapped the cell phone shot.

Seemingly alone and somewhat aroused, Chris felt the moment needed to be immortalized digitally. So, he did what any Atlanta pastor with a Jheri-curl would do, and he went to the bathroom to admire himself – and thought, “Why keep this to myself?”

How selfless.

I’m not going to overanalyze the situation, but here are five reasons why this is whack (not just for superstars).

1. It’s vain: I hope that everyone out there likes something about his or her appearance. I hope you love your height, or your smooth skin or your smile. Love you, but know that there is a line, and when you are overcome with the desire to share your assets with others – who probably haven’t asked – you’ve crossed the line from a healthy self-perception to narcissism.

2. It’s distracting: I’m sure the image of Chris’ naked body was distracting to many people – male and female – in several different ways. However, it’s clear that Chris, whose new album is coming out later this month, was not in the studio, writing songs, practicing dance moves or even taking anger management courses when he took the photo. Instead of working on his craft or himself, he was – as one of my cousins always says – worrying about the wrong thing.

3. It’s average: I mean, if you’re going to take a photo of yourself buck naked and send it out into the viral world, it should be something outstanding, unprecedented, awe-inspiring and unforgettable, in my opinion. I’m no expert, but I didn’t see anything that warranted a snapshot. One could argue that Chris is just another guy. His mega-career doesn’t guarantee a mega-member. I agree, but that begs the question: Why? Why take a photo at all?

4. It’s desperate: Are you looking for approval? Validation? Sex? Get a grip. I guess hundreds of fans posting flattering comments about your physique is an ego booster, but if you’re in need of a boost that big, then there might be other issues at hand. Instead of simply revering your reflection, a Stuart Smalley mirror moment might be more beneficial.

5. It’s dangerous. It’s a slippery slope. Once you start snapping and distributing nude photos of yourself, how far away are you from an actual sex tape? Is it like a gateway activity that leads to more risqué public behavior? How long will it be before he’s making out with women on a VH1 reality show, displaying no shame or self-control at all? Wait. I think I slipped into a Ray J rant.

To be clear, I’m not discouraging physically fit men from posting their nude photos online or texting them to ex-girlfriends, but know that more than just the goodies are being revealed. Such actions can offer a peek into one’s psyche, and although you can never really know what’s going on in someone else’s head, putting yourself out there like that, suggests quite a bit.

1 Response to “What Your Naked Pic Really Reveals”


  1. April 1, 2011 at 11:04 am

    I found your blog while I was on the S2S Magazine website. I agree with this article. I actually read an article yesterday about how the University of Buffalo did a study with women who post multiple pictures of themselves online and how they are actually looking for ego boosters and self-validation. With that in mind, I would like them to do a study of men who do the same. I’m not saying that Chris Brown posts multiple pictures of himself online, but anybody who would leak their own nude photo does seem desperate for attention, and fishing for compliments.

    I guess this picture was the introduction to his new, hit single “Look At Me Now,” however, it begs the question-what were you like before? Fail.

    Instead of seeking validation from outward sources, people need to look within…maybe multiple self-help books will do the trick.

    I enjoyed reading this article, and I look forward to reading more of your content.


Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

