09
Nov
10

How Many Dates Does It Take?

How long do you date somebody before you determine that you’re not really interested? A lot of women I know spent years hanging around with the wrong guys in relationships that went nowhere. As a result, many of them are now quick to kick potential suitors to the curb at the first sign of incompatibility. However, we’ve all heard stories from wives who admit they weren’t exactly feeling their now-husbands when they first met.

So, given that chemistry sometimes builds over time, how many dates and phone conversations are necessary before a SIS can truly determine her romantic interest in a guy?

This question came to me as I watched Sheree of “Real Housewives of Atlanta” date a guy she clearly was not feeling. He seemed to think he had it all together, not realizing that she wasn’t impressed. As he offered her unsolicited relationship advice (mainly about how she needed to loosen up), invited her to a dinner that she had to help prepare, and stuck his cookie-dough-covered thumb in her mouth, I wondered, “How much longer is she going to put up with this dude?”

I can only assume that Sheree was (1) bored and had nothing better to do (2) going out with him primarily for the sake of the show or (3) being a great sport and really taking the time to find out if there were sparks.

The season hasn’t ended yet, but if sparks fly, they’re more likely to come from Kandi’s microphone committing suicide after another studio session with tone-deaf songstress Kim. If Sheree and the guy she’s been dating do end up together, it will definitely be a lesson for every SIS out there who’s quick to dismiss. Maybe enduring a few awkward, uncomfortable moments is worth it in the end, if it leads to years of friendship, love and romance. If you have to sit through a couple bad dates and lick a relative stranger’s finger in the process, that’s a small price to pay. Right? LOL. Maybe.

4 Responses to “How Many Dates Does It Take?”


  1. November 9, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    You bring up a good point. But, I don’t think there is a direct answer.

    It really depends on the chemistry, if any, between the two people. I wouldn’t recommend people going on a date and just sucking it up if they are having a horrible time. Usually, when you meet someone, you know whether there are any sparks or if you have any interest in each other (I’d say by the 2nd or 3rd date, definitely).

    With regards to Sheree, that show was hard to watch. She is not into him (He’s kind of weird if you ask me). I feel like she only went on the dates because he’s a renowned person. Clearly, she thinks she is “above” him. However, I’m with her on the whole cookie dough situation…you don’t know where his fingers been! LOL

  2. November 9, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I don’t think it takes very long for you to know if someone is work bothering with. If that spark, that little twinge that you makes you say “hmmm,I actually look forward to seeing him again”, then it may be time to consider moving on. Now that’s not to say that can’t go back to that person at another time but I do think there should be some sort of immediate interest/chemistry.

    Sheree knew after that speaking event that she wasn’t interested. LOL And FYI: i know him in real life and trust me, its all for the cameras.

  3. November 10, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    I feel like you can tell by the first meeting if it’s going to work or not. Sometimes it is what it is.

  4. 4 dontodusk
    November 30, 2010 at 12:40 am

    I suspected my wife was the one for me during our first conversation. I’m pretty sure I was in good with her after the first date (at least I didn’t blow it).


Leave a Reply

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

