20
Sep
10

I’m Baby Registry Challenged

I just came from a baby shower.

It may sound sexist, but as a woman, there are just some things I feel women should automatically know how to do. I think being able to prepare a decent meal is among those things. It doesn’t have to be an entire Thanksgiving dinner, but entrees that can be prepared in the microwave don’t count.

I also think all dudes should know how to change a tire, but don’t ask me where I’m getting this from. I guess it’s just society’s institutionalized gender roles getting the best of me.

Anyway, I’m fine with most traditionally “female” duties, but I fall short when it comes to shopping for baby stuff. Not that I think all women should necessarily be good at shopping, but searching for baby gifts just reminds me how little I know about infants.

I scan the registry and decide to purchase the diaper tower and bottle warmer, but go to the listed aisle and realize I’ve no idea what these items even look like, which makes it that much more difficult to identify and purchase them. I think I’d know what breast pumps look like, but I can’t even type the words without imagining how uncomfortable that must be, so I avoid those. I usually stick to pacifiers and bibs.

Baby shower registries give me the same WTH? feeling I get when I take my car into the shop. Doesn’t it just need oil and gas? When did power steering fluid enter the picture? Hoses and belts? Is all this really necessary?

When it comes to vehicles, I just call my dad. However, when it comes to buying for babies, I’m urged to hang in there when that voice in my head says, “You should know this. You’re a woman.” Then, I hear Chaka and Whitney serenading me, assuring me that “It’s all in me.” So, I search for the weaning cup, the pacigrips and the Lipil powder realizing that there’s a huge question mark hovering over my head.

“Perplexed” is the word that comes to mind.

However, I realize that one day I may need to know this stuff – if not for me, than for my future nieces, nephews and godchildren. So, I think of it as a learning experience. I roam the aisles slightly overwhelmed, examining the strange baby paraphernalia and wondering how moms make it look so easy.

“Awe” is the word that comes to mind.

Then, I buy a gift card.

4 Responses to “I’m Baby Registry Challenged”


  1. September 20, 2010 at 1:46 am

    LOL This sounds like me. At my old job every time there was a baby shower, all the men (and me) just gave money to two other women to pick out gifts. Shopping for baby showers make me nervous. It takes me forever to pick out something. I usually buy bibs and pampers. Babies usually need that right?

  2. 2 mgode
    September 20, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    There should be something like a visa gift card for pampers.

  3. 3 Yolonda
    September 20, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    I learned something from the last baby shower I attended. Buy the gift that keeps on giving: Books. Babies need a library. That’s what I’m sticking to…and for couples: cash for weddings and the book The Power of a Praying Wife.

    When all else fails: GIFT CARDS!

  4. 4 Monique
    September 21, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Ha! I have two year old son and I call my mom constantly about stuff. I do think there are some maternal traits embedded in all women but other things must be learned. the best gifts for baby shower: books, diapers, wipes and gift cards. I never stray from that list. NEVER.


Leave a Reply

September 2010
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

