30
Apr
10

Am I Dating My TV?

I obviously consider myself single, but the more I think about it, I am sort of in a committed relationship.

My TV and I have something sort of serious going on. I’ve been known to schedule evenings around this significant other. I snuggle up on my sofa to spend quality time gazing at the object of my affection. I feel like I’m missing out if we spend an entire 24 hours apart.

I first recognized things were getting serious years ago, when I’d leave happy hour events early to make sure I was in front of the TV by 8 p.m. Not being home on time was like being late for a dinner my mate had slaved over all day. Luckily, DVR has helped us in this area. My partner has learned some patience and doesn’t start dinner without me now.

I try not to allow this relationship to interfere with my interactions with actual human beings. I admit that I don’t always answer friends’ phone calls when I’m watching one of my favorite shows, but I make it a point to call them back as soon as the ending credits start rolling. In my defense, isn’t it rude to pick up the phone while your significant other is in the middle of a story?

The good thing is that my “hobby” helps me determine how much I like  a guy. My willingness to alter my TV habits for a man is a great indication that I’m feeling him. If I’m willing to miss the finale of “Project Runway” for a phone call with a potential suitor, or if he wins the toss-up between a night out with him and a marathon of “The Hills,” then my 32-inch may have something to worry about. That guy may be a keeper.

That’s not to suggest that I’d ever completely abandon my TV time. I’m sure I’d still fit in a few favs on a weekly basis, but obviously, a relationship where the conversation actually works both ways, would be preferable.

5 Responses to “Am I Dating My TV?”


  1. 1 Rose
    April 30, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    You messing wit my man!!!

    In your defense though, TV offers a much wider, more interesting and entertaining variety than most happy hours…and it takes a helluva woman to handle 32 inches!

  2. April 30, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    I felt like this 4 years ago before starting college. I totally spent quality time with my tv back then. Moving to college, the workload and lack of available cable completely weaned me off tv. I get most of the news from the internet nowadays and have no idea what shows are popular right now.I admit that when I go home and have access to the 900+ channel digital cable package, I feel a prick in my heart for the tv. It is like coming back to an old friend again.

  3. 3 dizpizzlefoshizzle
    April 30, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    I broke it off with tv years ago. She was just too manipulative and phony. I think she only wanted me for my money. But I always know how to turn her on. I just don’t have time for the games right now.

  4. 4 Machelle Thomas
    May 1, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    I have to admit I was a big fan on watching my t.v. but with overtime I have become very bored with watching my t.v.Now I am on my laptop but even that has become a bore for me too,so now I try to catch up on things that need to be done in my house.But I do believe if I had my own car or like a suffienct other those are the two things that I lack in my life.Because I would like to have a car, so that I can do more outside of my house and someone I can spend some good times with.

  5. June 14, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    Saw you on Freshly Pressed! Just wanted to say this entry was cute and well done.


Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

