08
Feb
10

One Meal at a Time

While listening to a comic explain the difference between “cookin’” and “fixin’ something to eat,” I had to admit that my microwave gets a lot more attention than my oven does.

After a long hard day at work, possibly running errands after that and even hitting the gym when the mood strikes, a SIS may more often opt to nuke something in the microwave, as opposed to pulling out potatoes to peel or chicken to fry. (Not to mention one option cuts down significantly on dirty dishes.)

Also, if you’re a single sistah without kids, you’re probably eating at home alone most nights. So, exactly who are you fixing all that macaroni and cheese for? The times I have made it, I’ve taken a good portion over to my parents’ house to share the calories.

My mom does this thing where she can freeze the equivalent of a Whoville Christmas feast, thaw it out six months later and have it taste like she just pulled the roast beast out the oven. When I try that, the grub just ends up in the garbage. At her house, I know it won’t go to waste.

Then, there’s the whole recession factor. If I have $20, I can buy all the ingredients for one side dish, or I can buy about four frozen dinners, which are much easier to transport to the office. You do the math.

Unfortunately, time, money and mouths all discourage me from throwing down in the kitchen on a regular basis, but I do try to get it in when I can. When friends wanna have potlucks, during holidays and when I’m snowed in during a blizzard, I have the time to experiment with recipes and brush up on my cooking.

In between those rare occasions, I find myself rushing home from work on evenings when I’ve decided to actually use the stove, pots and pans and make a meal. It’s worth the hassle, though.

Maybe one day I’ll start a cooking blog, have a cooking show on TV or become the next B. Smith. The possibilities are endless, but for now, I’ll just start off small, fixing cooking one meal at a time.

4 Responses to “One Meal at a Time”


  1. February 9, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Prior to becoming a mommy a year and half ago, they only thing in my fridge were Strawberry fruit bars in the freezer and vodka and chips in the fridge. That’s it. Most nights dinner was ordered and delivered or I would eat at my parent’s house. I don’t mind cooking most days but even now with my son at a year old, I would prefer to nuke something yet I feel like a bad mom if I do. I say save yourself the money, cook smaller portions for you to have for dinner and lunch and keep the eating out for the weekend.

  2. February 9, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    LOL at the roast beast reference. I love How the Grinch Stole Christmas.

    I used to be a microwave maven, but I got tired of TV dinners and wanted to improve my culinary skills. These days you’ll catch me cooking at least every other day. Usually I cook a meal in advance. What I make on Tuesday is probably for Wednesday. That way I don’t have to feel rushed or forced to cook. I sit down with a good book and enjoy my mouthwatering masterpieces.

  3. 3 blackbarbiekj
    February 16, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    I guess I am just greedy, too cheap to eat out every night or just have nothing better to do because I am single and I cook. LOL

    Maybe not every night but my portions are big enough to last a couple of dinners.

    Post was hilarious! Because yes, cooking for one does have its challenges. You must look at cost per serving not cost per ingredient to make it worth the single gal’s time.

    I have a friend who told me the other day, she splits things in half instead of making the whole box (i.e., tacos, receipes, etc.) and that way it is more single friendly and your money and groceries last longer. Good point I had never thought of.

    Now washing dishes for all that cooking for one person …. that sucks. That’s why you have to have a dishwasher. LOL.

    As long as you can make one or two good dishes, its ALL good 🙂

  4. July 11, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    When my kids were living at home with me and I was married, I cooked three squares a day. Now that I live alone and am single, my fridge gets no love. I can cook really well, and I love too cook; however, it is easier for me to just grab something quick unless the boyfriend is badgering me to burn.. lol! It is more economically feasible to buy groceries and stretch a meal out a couple of days so I think I will adapt that habit again because grabbing and going can become rather expensive.


Leave a Reply

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

