23
Jan
10

Enjoying ‘Me’ Time

I’m a solo roller, meaning most of the time I roll solo. I shop alone. I usually go to the movies alone. I’ve eaten at restaurants alone, traveled alone and gone to nightclubs alone. What can I say? I’m not always patient enough to wait around for my friends’ calendars to clear up. So, I just go when I’m ready to go, even if no one is available to tag along.

Knowing how much some people like to assume all singles are miserable, I am conscious of the fact that I may be soliciting unwanted pity from those who can’t understand that alone doesn’t necessarily mean lonely.

The truth is that; although there are times when I won’t go out unless I’m with a friend, I really do enjoy my own company. I appreciate my own thoughts (and hope you do, too) and don’t at all mind letting my mind roam when I’m people watching or sipping on an overpriced latte at the book store.

I really haven’t given much thought about how hanging out by myself makes me feel. I don’t think I have any real feelings about it. However, I can say that I don’t feel humiliated. So, a recent article, offering tips on how to dine solo without feeling embarrassed, is a bit ill conceived, in my opinion.

Why should anyone be embarrassed to be out alone? The one person you must spend time with is yourself. If you can enjoy that time, whether it be at home on the sofa or walking through a park, then this SIS thinks you’re ahead of the game.

6 Responses to “Enjoying ‘Me’ Time”


  1. January 23, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    I enjoy me time alone especially at home because of the peace and quiteness.I really enjoy shoppping by myself that’s really my alone time for me.I have pretty much always done a lot of things by myself but you know like going out somewhere special I do like sharing that time with someone it doesn’t have to be the opposite sex either!

  2. 2 breakofdon
    January 24, 2010 at 12:42 am

    are you kidding.

    I love dating myself. I don’t do it often enough. I am always surprised by how much more I can get in to when I’m dolo. Although, when I have gone out and had a nice meal and drank some good wine that is around the time I start wanting some company …

  3. 3 sistah1
    January 24, 2010 at 11:01 am

    breakofdon: That’s too funny. I guess after some good wine there may be one or two things you don’t want to do alone. LOL.

  4. 4 Ms G
    January 24, 2010 at 11:06 am

    Me Time is a necessity…Peace and Quiet! Haven’t committed myself to solo dating but I will try it…Good suggestions

  5. 5 TMJohnson
    January 25, 2010 at 10:48 am

    I’m with you all — I love my alone time. I’m an only child raised by a single mother, so I’m used to kicking myself. Going to the movies and seeing exactly what I want to see, when I want to see it. Taking a spa trip just for the hell of it.

    Compromise is essential in all relationships (family, romantic or platonic) and it’s nice to get your way sometimes.


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

