11
Jan
10

Weight Off the Single Gal’s Shoulders

It’s been a rough few weeks for the single, independent sistahs out there. First, there was The Washington Post article focusing on a black woman who sleeps with men she has no interest in and doesn’t date nice guys. Hopefully, the masses realize she’s not the average SIS. However, since she supposedly has a movie deal in the works, I’m a little concerned.

 Then, there was the ABC report which confirmed there really is a shortage of black men out there. It’s not as if we didn’t already know this, but the national spotlight helped to drive the point through the heart like a stake.

So, when I heard this little nugget of positive news concerning women who live alone, I decided to share it. It probably won’t cause you to jump or shout, but at this point, I think any news to help balance the scale and prevent an occurrence of mass suicides is appreciated.

The New York Times reported on  a study that finds women who live alone weigh less. I don’t want to suggest that there’s anything wrong with being a sister with the figure of Jennifer Hudson or Mo’Nique if that’s your choice; however, we do know that obesity can bring about hypertension and diabetes. So, I think we can all agree that such health conditions should be prevented.

According to the study, most women who are coupled eat more. Whether that’s because they’re constantly being wined and dined, or because they’re licking whipped cream off of their lovers is unclear.

However, I prefer to contemplate why the single lifestyle might lead a SIS to be thinner.

It could be that single women usually don’t have men bringing McDonald’s, hot dogs and pizza into their home to tempt them. It might also be that women who live alone are spending the bulk of their money on the mortgage, and not so much on food. Simply put, maybe single women have more time to focus on themselves.

Who knows?

In the end, I’m just happy to hear some positive news reported on singles. Consider this a light at the end of the tunnel, a silver lining for your cloud and cake that you can have and eat … without worrying too much about your weight.

6 Responses to “Weight Off the Single Gal’s Shoulders”


  1. 1 Lisa
    January 11, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Monique and Jennifer Hudson are not obese, what da hell are you talking about?? and just because you’re skinny does NOT mean you are in great shape either..

  2. 2 blackbarbiekj
    January 11, 2010 at 11:57 am

    This is positive news but I also read a report that said that people in healthy relationships and having sexual intercourse on a frequent bases LIVE LONGER …. have LESS STRESS and are generally healthier and happier. LOL. So I guess there is a report for everything. 🙂

    Regardless of your living situation, mortgage, rent, room-mate… you still have to eat. I think perhaps single people weigh less is because as stated in the post, you aren’t being wined and dined or your mate is not bringing you McDonalds.

    I have lived alone for so many years, I should be at my GOAL weight. Sucks. I should weigh what I weighed in High School.

    LMAO.

  3. January 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Like BlackBarbiekj I read that same report and should be in top shape lol. As a single person I was aways so busy with work and never had time to cook. Eating out was my friend. Then again my bff who is in a relationship is always eating out with her bf. So it could go either way. All I know now is I have cut out eating out, started cooking healthier and exercising. So in time maybe I will be one of the single people in shape.

  4. 4 Machelle Thomas
    January 12, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    Now, I thought this was so interesting to read that we have a shortage of men out there for us single women!I’m so glad to know this bit of information that there are more women out there but not enough of men to fill the shortage.But since I am still single it’s not by choice it’s more like I better wait on my God because then I can’t go wrong…

  5. January 12, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    I’m old enough that I’ve heard this man-shortage thing from every conceivable angle, that black women are still single because we’re too-something, too ambitious, too greedy, too snobby, too insensitive, too willing to be doormats. But what I’m really tired of is watching generation after generation of young women fret, fuss and beat themselves up or feel they need to counterattack critical men.

    There is no real shortage of good men or women. There are good men, good black men everywhere and men who may not be there yet but are able and willing to step up. There are good black women everywhere who may not be everything they want to be, but are able and willing to step up. We all just need to see ourselves in the right situation and make sure we are basing them on real values.

    There are as many reasons that people are not married as there are people, but we can sabotage ourselves by buying into the stereotyping shots that people take at any one group of people.

    You can find an example to support any point you want to make, but that doesn’t make it true.

    If you want to engage in the argument for argument’s sake, that’s fine. If someone wants to label single women or men, that’s fine, too. Don’t diminish the quality of your life waiting on a proposal or allowing your psychic energy to be drained by someone who plays head games. Today is all you’ve got. Don’t just live your life, love it. And the romantic love you want will follow.


Leave a Reply

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

