02
Dec
09

Beautification vs. Just Plain Fakin’

While watching the boob tube last night, I got an eye full of them. Scantily clad women appeared on my screen in the form of Victoria’s Secret commercials. The spots promoted bras that would increase a woman’s bust by two whole cup sizes. 

Women have been augmenting their physiques since underwear was invented, but the ads made me question: at what point do push-up bras, girdles and weaves become false advertising?

I’ve heard a lot about how when people first meet, they send a “representative” of themselves. If you curse like a sailor, you may not rip into the expletives when you’re first introduced to someone. If you’re one to dig into crevices on a regular basis (ears, nose, what have you…), you may not practice that habit in front of anyone you’re not comfortable with.

However, since physical attractiveness is one of the things that first draws one person to another, how does offering an outward appearance that is less than genuine affect the relationship?

If a guy meets you, and he’s instantly attracted to your hazel eyes, what happens when you lose the contacts? What happens if the increase-your-bust bra is in the laundry, and you show up to date No. 2 looking considerably less curvaceous?

You may want to get to know someone better before you let him know you sing ‘80s sitcom theme songs in the shower every morning, but when do you reveal that you purchased your round rump online from Target?

Personally, I’d be a little put off if I met a dude wearing a toupee one weekend, and the next weekend he appeared with the standard George Jefferson male-patterned baldness crescent around his head.

It’s not that I necessarily have anything against baldness, but isn’t that a little misleading?

Where does beautification end and just plain fakin’ begin?

Maybe it just depends on who’s looking. I’ve met guys who appreciate realness even if it’s less glamorous, and I’ve met guys with the whatever-makes-her-more-attractive mentality.

As with most things, it’s probably just a matter of being open and honest. Yes, it’s yours even if you bought it, but if it’s something that you have to take off to clean, it might be polite to mention that sooner rather than later.

After all, most people would agree they want a partner who loves the true them, so it might not be a bad idea to show who that true person is … inside and out.

4 Responses to “Beautification vs. Just Plain Fakin’”


  1. 1 Lucy Van Pelt
    December 3, 2009 at 4:10 am

    I say do whatever makes you feel beautiful.

    I do wonder how dudes react when the woman they went home with takes her butt pads off. That must be an interesting moment. LOL.

  2. 2 Machelle Thomas
    December 4, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    I feel like some women just love, all of that attention that they can receive from having fake whatever on from weave,boobs,lip injection and face life.I myself have been a all natural woman.But to each there own if that’s what they like them alright.I’m just saying!

  3. 3 sunnydelyte21
    December 8, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    I agree with this to a certain extent. I having this saying “anyone can look nice dressed up for a night/day, but it’s when your dressed down and you can’t still attract and man/women then that’s what’s up”.

    I wear weave, but I don’t wear makeup or earring and stuff like that. I’m quick to tell a guy I met while dress to impress that I don’t dress like this all the time. Then if we hang out I’m going to be in regular clothes. But they never seem to have a problem with it. I would never get butt pads/implant or breast implants…but I do get what your saying.

  4. 4 donsearlylight
    December 9, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    It doesn’t matter what kind of costume a woman puts on to get a man’s attention. If a man truly knows what he is looking for he is not easily fooled by disguises.


Leave a Reply

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

