17
Oct
09

The ‘Other’ Walk of Shame

 blackdude

It happens every time without fail. It happens so often that even though you convince yourself that there’s now way it could possibly happen again, it does, and all you can do is hang your head in shame.

Let me set up the scenario for you.

It’s a rainy Saturday, and you’ve decided to stay in the house, clean, work on projects and maybe prepare a nice meal for dinner. You’re going about your duties, striking things off your list when you hit a small road block. You need a specific type of ink cartridge for your printer, or maybe you realize you have to run to the bank. No matter the reason, you wind up having to leave the house.

It’s a short errand. It shouldn’t take long, so you snatch the hair back, maybe pull on an old hat. You slip into some comfortable boots, nothing too cute ‘cause it’s muddy outside. You throw on a wrap, and you venture out. All the while, you’re silencing the voice in your head. The one telling you, you know you’re going to run into a fine man.

You ignore the voice, and take the chance. You gamble, and you lose.

The finest, most handsome, stylish and well-groomed man of all time just happens to be out-and-about that day in your neck of the woods, and while he’s ready for a photo shoot, your look is liable to break a camera’s lens.

I guess the moral of the story is to always be fly, but am I really going to get cute-to-death just to run out for 10 minutes? Probabaly not. So, this SIS is still holding out hope that the next fine fellow will be able to look beyond the busted outfit and maybe show a (fairly attractive) sistah some love regardless. Maybe I’ll try to do the same for those quick-errand-running brothas.

10 Responses to “The ‘Other’ Walk of Shame”


  1. 1 Lucy Van Pelt
    October 17, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    I absolutely HATE when that happens to me. Why can’t I bump into the cuties when I’m bringing it?! LOL.

  2. 2 island girl
    October 18, 2009 at 1:26 am

    The good side to that is that if he approaches you when you’re not at your best- he’s definetly a keeper!

    • 3 vignette
      December 7, 2009 at 3:25 pm

      That is THE truth right there. It seems I never see THE man when I am dressed to the nines, but with the hat on & yoga pants & over sized sweat shirts..there he is…& NOT looking my way! LOL!! But I bet I dodged a bullet every time Mr. Thing didn’t look my way. I am a beautiful woman with or without the paint and hair-do. If he can’t see that, what would I do every morning? Wake up before him to make sure I’m worthy? UH-HUH! I actually know a woman who has been doing that for over 45 years! Laws! That’s sick! haha! So yeah, I hope to find my Mr. Wonderful when I’m looking just like I would every morning we’d be waking up together & hopefully~he’d see it that way too! 😉

  3. October 18, 2009 at 8:50 am

    Nice info! Very cool post.I have looked over your blog a few times and I love it.Doesn’t it take up a lot of time to keep your blog so interesting ?

  4. 5 sistah1
    October 18, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Lucy: It happens without fail, girl.
    Island Girl: I totally agree! That’s when it’s time to move beyond his looks and start trying to figure out what type of guy he is on the inside.
    Premium: Thanks a lot. I’m glad you’re enjoying it. Yes, it does take up a lot of time, but it’s sort of a hobby for me, and it takes my mind off other things … like bills. 🙂

  5. October 18, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Your model in the photo has a soul glow. 🙂

    Great job! Loved it. Lived it.

  6. 7 T. M. Johnson
    October 18, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Someone needs to design the perfect “quick errand outfit” and “look your best” face cream for moments you just described (smile).

  7. 8 sunnydelyte21
    November 12, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Yes, this has happen to me too much. But surprising guys like to catch you on your off days. And I have this saying “Anyone can dress up and look cute for a day/night, but if a man can catch you on your off day and thinks your still fly and sexy that’s what’s up”.”

  8. 9 breakofdon
    November 29, 2009 at 6:07 pm

    A truly fly sister is fly no matter what she is wearing or isn’t wearing, but its takes a fly guy to recognize that.

    I wrote a poem about. Like to hear it?
    here it go:

    because I’m hot like fire on a pepper, but I’m cool as a fan
    because I keep a dime in my back pocket, and one in my hand

    because I go to work, but I don’t sweat
    because I can walk across an ocean and not get wet

    because I’m as smooth as a pearl is round
    because I can run game and still keep both feet on the ground

    because I can be the man I want to be
    because I got a woman more fly than me

  9. January 5, 2010 at 10:19 am

    My grandmother always told me if you stay ready you don’t have to get ready (which means always be prepared). I didn’t know what that meant until I got into my college years, when I was running late for classes on a regular and now single and looking for companionship I figure it applies the same way. No, you don’t have to get all dolled up, but do understand a pulled back ponytail can look just as good as a thrown on hat and some cute boots will draw attention and a brotha is bound to come up to strike a conversation with you. Let it be known all men don’t care about the make-up nor the clothes they care about your spirit and positive vibe so if you go in a store with a hidden face like you don’t wanna be seen, then you will be with out regards to positive comments….like you doing bad or something.


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

