12
Oct
09

Is the Bridesmaid Curse Legit?

bridesmaidI’m not a superstitious person. I don’t mind “splitting the pole” when I walk down the street with friends. I don’t avoid stepping on cracks in the pavement (and I’m glad to share that my mom’s back is just fine). I’ve walked under ladders, and I’ve opened umbrellas indoors.

However, as a SIS who has served in four bridal parties, and been a hostess in two wedding ceremonies, I’m starting to wonder if the “always a bridesmaid, never a bride” superstition holds true.

I do have at least one friend who wasn’t taking any chances. She refused to be in more than three weddings. It was that serious. At least it was, until her favorite first cousin made plans to walk down the aisle and asked her to be part of that special day. So, just as I once was, she’s staring the superstition square in the face and taking that fourth trip down the aisle come what may.

After all, how do you turn down a bridesmaid invitation based on a superstition? You don’t.

Nonetheless, her hesitancy made me think about the old adage. Where did it come from? My only guess is that someone surmised that if three of your friends get snatched up before you do, then maybe you’re getting up there in age, and your best years are behind you. Even worse: maybe you’re the loser of the group. LOL. Those are my guesses, but the truth is that sometimes it takes a long time to find the right one. In the meantime, I’d suggest being a part of your friends’ special days. If you don’t have a significant other, then you may want to make sure you got some good girlfriends to have your back. Refusing to be a bridesmaid might have the exact opposite effect.

The way I see it, in the end, it’s a win-win situation. If you do end up married one day, you’ll be able to loudly denounce the superstition. If you don’t, you can attribute your singleness to the forces of darkness. Who can argue with that?

2 Responses to “Is the Bridesmaid Curse Legit?”


  1. 1 blackbarbiekj
    October 14, 2009 at 10:24 am

    I did not realize that this was a superstition … I told a girlfriend along time ago that I was not being in NO MORE weddings (I have been in 3) and she actually got mad (please note: she was not getting married at the time). I expressed that I would support her, read a poem when her or any of my other dear friends got married but bridesmaids….NOPE…. I had officially RETIRED 🙂

    I actually lost a friendship over that statement and decision (again. she was not getting married or planning a wedding at the time and to this day is still SINGLE!

    For me, 3 was the magic number. I had spent enough money, time and drama on 3 weddings. The rest I would reserve as a guest. Nothing wrong with that.

    From my experience in being in weddings, I think the bride would prefer you to be upfront and honest then to say you will participate and have an “attitude” the whole time.

    Its a matter of superstition to many, and personal preferences for some.

    If I am always buying $$$$ bridesmaid dresses, traveling, hotel rooms, etc…. how does MY bank account grow for my big day? Really. And its nice just to be a GUEST sometimes.

    And deep down inside, NOBODY wants to end up like the chick on the movie “26 Dresses”…. I know I don’t 🙂

    You can be happy for your friends, family as a GUEST…. does anybody really need to a bridesmaid a gazillion times 🙂

  2. 2 SistahEsq
    February 24, 2010 at 10:28 pm

    3 is my magic number too. And I’ve reached it. (Cousins don’t count!)


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

