04
Oct
09

Blinded by Wedded Bliss

sunglasses

I don’t consider myself a Single Independent Sistah on the prowl. When I go out with friends, we’re not scoping the vicinity for eligible guys. We’re not expecting to experience love at first sight or return home with an engagement ring. A lot of times, I don’t even notice all the men in the room … or so I thought.

It wasn’t until I spent a few nights out with my lovely married friends that I realized how much I do notice the opposite sex. Yes, I’m subtly checkin’ them out. In contrast, it’s literally as if my committed girlfriends have glaucoma when it comes to the handsome men at any given venue. Give them some shades and a keyboard ‘cause they’ll have a better chance writing a hit record than noticing the handsome men in the room.

Honestly, that’s how it should be. It would be a problem if my wedded girlfriends were throwing themselves at men, like Blanche from “Golden Girls” or if they were calling “dibs” on the cuties in the club.

So, when we go out, it’s strictly about the sisterhood. We may discuss money, work, family, friends and the men in our lives, but it’s not about meeting any new guys.

That’s good news for the marriages of my friends, but sometimes when I do notice a Boris Kodjoe look-alike across the room, I do want to ask my married friends to move a little to the right ‘cause they’re blocking my line of vision and hindering my attempt at seductive eye contact.

The truth is that it rarely ever seems worth interrupting quality time with a good friend to flirt with a stranger, no matter how cute. So, I just calm myself and marvel at my wedded friends’ acute, yet impressive, vision loss, and the next time I’m out with my single friends, I keep an eye out for a guy who might be able to strike me with the same selective blindness one day.

1 Response to “Blinded by Wedded Bliss”


  1. 1 Lucy Van Pelt
    October 5, 2009 at 9:21 am

    I get the exact opposite. My married friends are always trying to set me up, and they are always calling my attention toward any dude whose ring finger is naked. LOL.


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

